How to Use Instagram Live

How to Use Instagram Live

How to Use Instagram Live

How to Use Instagram Live

Instagram introduced Instagram live a few weeks ago. The new feature allows users to stream real-time videos via Instagram Stories. But unlike Facebook Live and Periscope, Instagram Live videos aren’t hosted on the platform. They are immediately deleted after each live session. However, as a business, you have the option to send the disappearing videos to individual customers and groups using Direct Message.

Instagram on its official website published the news and also how to share a live video. It reads as follows
You can share a live video to connect with your followers in real time. Once a live video has ended, it’s no longer visible on Instagram.

“To start a live video:

  1. Tap on the camera icon in the top left of the screen or swipe right from anywhere in Feed.
  2. Tap Live at the bottom of the screen, then tap Start Live Video. Your followers may be notified when you start a live video.
  3. The number of viewers appears in the top right of the screen, and comments appear at the bottom. Tap Comment to add a comment, and tap and hold a comment to pin it to the top so that viewers can see it more easily.
  4. To turn comments off, tap then select Turn Off Commenting. Keep in mind that any keyword filters you’ve turned on will also apply to comments on your live video.
  5. To turn comments off, tap then select Turn Off Commenting. Keep in mind that any keyword filters you’ve turned on will also apply to comments on your live video.

Keep in mind that you may not be able to share a live video if your account was recently created.”

Pin Comments

To pin a comment, tap and hold the comment. It will automatically be pinned at the top of your feed. To turn off comments, tap the “More” icon (three dots) and select “Turn Off Commenting.”

Send Disappearing Messages

Remember, live videos are deleted after each live session. You can however send your customers the video by tapping the “Arrow” icon at the bottom right. Select groups or people and click send. The sent video will appear as a circle at the top of your direct inbox. A tick on the circle shows that your message was successfully delivered.

Promote

When you start live streaming you can choose to send a notification to your customers, alerting them that you are live. The word “Live” will also appear under your Stories profile photo. Be as creative as possible. You video might just appear in the “Top Live” stories area that’s listed under the Explore tab.